• Each type of leukodystrophy is caused by a specific gene abnormality that leads to abnormal development or destruction of the white matter (myelin sheath) of the brain. So, leukodystrophies are often called ‘disorders of dysmyelination’
  • For NEETPG, we have to know the location of brain specifically involved in each type of leukodystrophy.


  • Canavan disease: ‘Canavan’ contains 3A. So it involves all (whole) of the white matter; i.e. diffuse white matter involvemenr
  • Alexander disease: ‘Alexander’ starts with ‘A’. A is infront of all letters. So, there will be frontal lobe involvement

  • Metachromatic leukodystrophy: Tigroid pattern
  • Adrenoleukodystrophy:¬†Adrenoleukodystrophy contains 3O. So, it involves occipital lobe

  • Krabbe’s disease:¬†Bilateral thalamic involvement.


How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 4.9 / 5. Vote count: 24

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.